First round of bursaries awarded for 2018-19 academic year

Posted: 24 May 18
Categories: News

Cohort one of the 2018 Journalism Diversity Fund has now concluded with the awarding of six bursaries.

These up-and-coming journalists were awarded funding to begin their journalism training at NCTJ-accredited courses in the 2018-19 academic year.

Bursaries were awarded to:

  • Sharmin Akhtar – Press Association Training
  • Solape Alatise – Press Association Training
  • Matthew Ford – News Associates London
  • Yusuf Khan – Cardiff University
  • Jessica Murray – Press Association Training
  • Adam Sonin – Press Association Training

The interviews took place on Friday, 18 May and were hosted by Bloomberg. The interviewing pane included senior managers and editors from the NCTJ, Claire Prosser Bursary, ITN, The Printing Charity, Bloomberg, Press Association and Google News Lab.

The interviewees were questioned on their passion for journalism, financial need and diversity.

Bursaries are awarded to students planning to study at an NCTJ-accredited course. They are awarded to students who can bring diversity to a newsroom and can help them cover the cost of course fees and living expenses.

This was the first of three rounds of bursaries to be granted in 2018. The next application round will open on Tuesday, 29 May with the deadline of Wednesday 11 July.