Final shortlist of the 2015/2016 academic year announced

Posted: 20 Nov 15
Categories: News

Five promising journalists have been shortlisted for Journalism Diversity Fund bursaries to cover the cost of their NCTJ-accredited journalism training.

The full shortlist is as follows:

  • Beth Baldwin
  • Angel Lambo
  • David Laniyan
  • Mantej Mann
  • Abiola Olanipekun

The candidates have been invited for interview and will be questioned by a panel of senior industry members at The Daily Telegraph in London on Friday, 4 December.

The applicants will be asked various questions about their passion for journalism, financial need and diversity.

Bursaries are awarded to those from socially and/or ethnically diverse backgrounds who have a passion for journalism and can demonstrate how they will bring diversity to the newsroom. Bursaries are awarded to cover the cost of journalism training and may include a contribution towards travel or living expenses depending on financial need.

Applications for bursaries are currently closed and will reopen in spring 2016 for courses beginning in the 2016/2017 academic year. Information on next year’s cohort dates will be available in the new year.