Cohort 3 bursaries awarded for 2017/18 academic year

Posted: 16 Aug 17
Categories: News

Cohort 3 of the Journalism Diversity Fund has now concluded with the awarding of ten bursaries for the 2017/18 academic year. These up-and-coming journalists were awarded funding to begin their journalism training at NCTJ-accredited courses beginning this September.

Bursaries were awarded to:

  • Danielle Amato – University of Kent
  • Elizabeth Burden – UCFB Wembley
  • Rory Claydon – Cardiff University
  • Aisha Doherty – Press Association Training London
  • Coran Elliott – Press Association Training London
  • Daniel Khalili-Tari – Press Association Training London
  • Adam Samuel – St Mary’s University
  • Anu Shukla – City of Wolverhampton College
  • Danny Thompson – City of Wolverhampton College
  • Eoin Wilson – News Associates

The interviews took place on Friday, 11 August and were hosted by The Evening Standard. The interviewing panel included senior managers and editors from the NCTJ, Thomson Reuters, Google, The BBC, Sky Sports News, The Printing Charity, Press Association, Trinity Mirror and The Thomas Read Bursary.

The interviewees were quizzed on their passion for journalism, financial need and diversity.

Bursaries are awarded four times a year to students planning to study an NCTJ-accredited course. They are awarded to students from socially or ethnically diverse backgrounds and can help them cover the cost of course fees and living expenses.

This was the third round of bursaries granted for the academic year between September 2017 and August 2018.

Applications for the next cohort are currently being accepted until Wednesday, 15 November. For more information, or to apply, click here.