Final bursaries of 2017/18 awarded in Cohort 4

Posted: 13 Dec 17
Categories: News

Cohort 4 of the Journalism Diversity Fund has now concluded with the awarding of nine bursaries for the 2017/18 academic year. These up-and-coming journalists were awarded funding to begin their journalism training at NCTJ-accredited courses beginning in 2018.

Bursaries were awarded to:

  • Matthew Bell – Press Association Training
  • Nicola Driscoll-Davies – Brighton Journalist Works
  • Hannah Lovejoy – News Associates London
  • Amar Mehta – Press Association Training
  • Yashas Mudumbai – News Associates London
  • Husna Rizvi – News Associates London
  • Joshua Salisbury – News Associates London
  • Genea Saunders – Press Association Training
  • Rianna Croxford – Press Association Training

The interviews took place on Friday, 8 December and were hosted by Press Association. The interviewing panel included senior managers and editors from the NCTJ, Claire Prosser bursary, Press Association, BCOMS, Sky Sports News, ITV and The Printing Charity.

The interviewees were quizzed on their passion for journalism, financial need and diversity.

Bursaries are awarded four times a year to students planning to study at an NCTJ-accredited course. They are awarded to students who can bring diversity to a newsroom and can help them cover the cost of course fees and living expenses.

This was the fourth and final round of bursaries granted for 2017/18 the academic year. The schedule for 2018/19 will be published shortly.