About the fund

The Journalism Diversity Fund was set up in 2005 with a donation of £100,000 from the Newspaper Licensing Agency (NLA).

It is supported by those in the industry who want to make newsrooms better reflect communities they serve by encouraging people from ethnically and socially diverse backgrounds to train as journalists. The aim is to action real change and network with the talent and decision makers to ensure diversity is at the top of the agenda throughout our industry.

The fund is administered by the National Council for the Training of Journalists (NCTJ).

In addition to NLA media access, the fund is sponsored by DMG Media (formerly Associated Newspapers), Bloomberg, the Financial TimesGoogle News LabPress AssociationThe Printing CharityThomson Reuters and Sky.

The fund also supports the PA bursary scheme, the Financial Times internship schemeThomas Read bursary and Claire Prosser bursary.

Supporters of the Journalism Diversity Fund include the Society of Editors, The GuardianThe Observer, News UK, talkSPORT and Creative Access.

The fund is aimed at people without the financial means to attend NCTJ-accredited journalism courses who can show they are either socially or ethnically diverse. All applicants to the fund will need to demonstrate a genuine commitment to journalism and the potential to be successful.

Since its launch, the Journalism Diversity Fund has awarded over 200 bursaries to financially support NCTJ students’ training, which has helped many students forge successful careers in journalism.

With the help of the Journalism Diversity Fund, you could:

  • Have the costs of your NCTJ-accredited course and examination fees paid for
  • Equip yourself with the vocational skills required to embark on a successful career in journalism
  • Get work placements at leading publishing companies while completing your course
  • Receive contributions to your living expenses during your training

There are three rounds of applications for the 2018-19 academic year to which people can apply. Please see the schedule for this year’s dates.